Where to start and is ST really the right tool for me? (Home theatre project)

Ok, to say I’m a noob would be an understatement of epic proportions. I just ordered an ST hub, which is still sitting in the box by my desk. The reviews and info I had read to date made it seem like the right tool for the job, but as I dig a bit deeper I’m starting to have doubts.

My basic goal is some specific automation, no security or the like involved. I have an alarm system that handles security and most of my z-wave devices. Where the ST comes in would primarily be a home theater and a combination of z-wave and IP control devices. My goal is to control the lights (both fixtures and LED), drapes, screen, and equipment power states (on and off primarily, no real need for function or volume control). Final goal is integration with Amazon Echo. I’d like to say something like “turn on the theater” and have the drapes close, screen drop, lights dim, LEDs set to a specific color, and equipment power up.

From what I’ve been digging into the last couple of days, I hadn’t realized that ST doesn’t have a native concept of scenes, but it seems there are ways around it. It also seems I could control the equipment with an additional integration from the Harmony hub, but since my equipment is all IP controllable, I’d like to avoid that if possible. I’ve seen some device type apps (or groovies or whatever I haven’t learned about them yet) for the AV equipement, though some of it seems to have been withdrawn recently.

So the bottom line question, can I actually achieve what I’m after with ST, and if so where’s the best place to start?

Welcome!

If you could tell us the specific brand and model of the IP addressable equipment you’d like to use, that would help a lot as far as looking at existing solutions. :sunglasses:

You’re quite right both that SmartThings doesn’t have a built-in concept of scenes, but that you can get the same end result in a number of different ways.