Water Tank Temperature?

Hi,

I am kind of new to this home automation thing, but i got the basic things covered i guess.

I am buying the SmartThings Samsung hub to control lights and power outlets. Thats fine and its very straight forward.

I am having trouble finding a zigbee / zwave water temperature sensor that i can connect to my SmartThings Hub and monitor the temprature.

I found this:

which i assume connects to a ZigBee device (DS18B20) that can communicate the temprature to my Hub.

Can you please confirm if my understanding is correct? If so, any details on how this can be done? If not, appreciate your input on how i can read the water tank temperature on my SmartThings hub.

Thanks
JS

Robin is right : the DS18B20 sensor chip you found on alibaba.com is NOT capable as such of connecting to your SmartThings hub, neither using Z-Wave nor Zigbee.
But it can be connected to the “Fibaro FGK-101 Door/Window & Temperature Sensor”, which in turn connects to the SmartThings hub using Z-Wave.

Beware however that the current version of the custom handler I developed for the FGK-101 is currently NOT compatible with the latest version of the FGK-101 (Z-Wave Plus, Firmware >= 3.2).
I should receive this latest version of the FGK-101 soon for tests purpose, and hopefully publish on github an updated compatible version by the end of the month.

In the meantime, if you can locate a supplier with the previous version of the FGK-101 (Z-Wave, Firmware <=2.5), you could use the current version of my custom handler immediately.
In case you buy a FGK-101 on Internet, remember also that contrary to Zigbee, Z-Wave frequencies depend on location (908,4 MHz in the US), so make sure you buy a US version if you have a SmartThings US hub.

4 Likes

Several different aspects to this, so I just want to clear up a couple…

You gotten very good advice about using the Fibaro Z wave sensor with a temperature probe, and the various selection issues involved with that.