Voice Control for Smartthings

Hello,

I just received my Smartthings starter kit and I am in the process of making the transition from my Zwave stick + computer to the Smartthings hub.

In the past, I was using a Zwave server and other people had used SiriProxy or other solutions to be able to control their home automation network with voice commands. I’m new to the Smartthings community - but is there anything that would allow for voice enabled controls of the Smartthings network?

JS

1 Like

they are building ST support

Thanks Coolcatiger. I’ve seen Ivee along with other kickstarter projects like Ubi and Fiona (failed to receive funding). But I don’t see that these products are available right now.

I’m looking for a solution that is available to implement immediately. Perhaps Siri proxy?

Tasker support for SmartThings would be a very “nice to have”; as that might permit interfacing through Android/Google voice input.

1 Like

ivee uses this it looks like: http://developer.att.com/developer/forward.jsp?passedItemId=12500023

Yeah, Ivee looks interesting. Fiona looked pretty ridiculous, but I guess it doesn’t matter since it wasn’t funded.

Ubi isn’t available immediately, but is shipping beta units now and should be shipping production units in a couple of months. I think November or December is very reasonable given their progress.

They will actually have working SmartThings support, though:

But to answer your question, I don’t believe there’s anything you could use for voice control of ST right now.

I mentioned this in a different thread, but just to repeat it: I’ve been a bit reluctant to back voice based interfaces. I’m just not sure the technology is ready yet. Now, I hope I’m wrong and am able to get something later that will do this.