Using a LED Desk Lamp with multiple settings with a SmartPlug?

I have a TeoTronics LED Desk Lamp that has four different settings that you can also dim and increase brightness. I typically have it set to the same setting all of the time.

I purchased a Samsung SmartPlug to use with it. I have the SmartPlug paired with my hub, I can turn the plug on and off with the SmartThings App. If I plug in the Smart Plug, plug in the lamp, turn on the SmartPlug with the App, and then turn on the lamp with the swtich on the lamp, I have light. I can then turn the light off with the App, and the lamp still shows power, but when I turn the plug back on with the app, nothing happens. I can hear the switch turn on, but the lamp itself doesn’t respond.

Is this a known issue?

I am a newbie, so I am still in learning mode.

What’s the model number for the desk lamp? It really just comes down to how the specific light handles a power outage.

You can test this for yourself. Set the smart plug aside for now and for this test just use the dumb light itself.

Have the light at your regular settings, then just take the plug out of the wall. Then plug it back into the wall outlet.

If restoring the power means the light comes on at the settings that you want, you’re all set, and it should work fine with a smart pocket socket. (We use “pocket socket” to mean a plug-in module, just so it’s clear when we are talking about the outlet and when we are talking about the module.)

If restoring the power means the light comes on at full brightness, or doesn’t come on at all, or comes on at some other default setting, then the smart plug is not going to be able to give you the results you want.