User interface

Hi I’m very exited about the whole Smarthing project. And one thing that still in my head is the UI, is there gonna be any customisation? it would be good to be able to have custom user interfaces.

If this is not possible I was thinking I could help to produce some kind of templates, so any user can choose their own. I’m an architect and you’d understand why GUI is so important for me

1 Like

Alex, thanks for posting! I completely understand.

We are spending a lot of time on the design of the user experience and user interface across Web, mobile and other devices (the Instacube, for instance). I believe it is one of the most important things that we have to get right in order to realize the dream of having SmartThings in as many homes and hands as possible. If it’s not elegant, beautiful and a delight to use, we won’t succeed. So first, I can provide you my personal assurance that we will hold SmartThings to the highest possible standards when it comes to design.

I want everyone that uses SmartThings to feel directly, and even emotionally, connected with their world of places, people, pets and things that SmartThings will bring online. Personalization is one tool for achieving this goal.

So how deep should that personalization go? I believe we have to strike a balance. There is a lot of underlying complexity that comes along with putting your entire world of connected things (your physical graph) at the tip of your fingers in an app. This complexity requires that quite a bit of the SmartThings experience follow a carefully crafted and defined structure. In some cases, we’ll need to reserve certain elements of the design specifically for functionality and usability.