Troubleshooting wiring of GE 12729 dimmer switch

This is my first attempt to install a new GE 12729 dimmer switch; my smart home currently consists of a very robust SmartThings hub and 2 plug in switches!

I purchased the dimmer switch to install in our kitchen; the circuit powers two overhead pendant lights, one over the sink and one over the island. Seems like a very simple swap with one single switch. The switch is in a 3 gang box, but each of the 3 switches is on a separate circuit, as one switch works the lights (the one I’m attempting to replace), one works the disposal and the other the dishwasher.

I removed the cover and turned off the 3 breakers (Note: I write the breaker number on the inside/back of the switch plate for easy reference…try it!)… I confirmed each of the circuits were off, and I pulled out the switch in question. It had 3 sets of wires coming into the box for that switch, 1 set for line and 2 for load (the 2 light fixtures)… seemed pretty straightforward. The switch ONLY had the black/hot wires connected to it, which made sense to me.

I removed the switch from the hot wires, separated them, then turned that one breaker back on the confirm the line wire; using one of those “tone” sensors, I identified the one that was live; the other two were “load”…turned breaker back off.

I then turned my attention to the Neutral and Grounds… the 3 white neutral wires were all connected together with a wire nut and neatly tucked in the back of the box (not connected to the switch)… and ALL the ground wires for all 3 circuits in the box were connected with a wire nut…(none of the 3 switches were connected to the ground bundle)

So, here’s what I did… 1) I got a piece of bare copper wire from my garage to pigtail off the ground; connected it; 2) I pulled the circuit neutral wires out, and attached the jumper wire (included with the switch) to the neutral bundle, then 3) I wired up the circuit this way: