Trouble Pairing GE/Jasco plugin dimmer 45602

Hello!

I’m having a terrible time trying to pair my GE/Jasco 45602 plugin dimmer. This is my first time trying to pair something that did not come with my Smartthings and I cannot get it to recognize in the app. I have tried 3 different outlets, 2 different lamps, I have tried with the plug a few inches from the hub, I have tried putting the plug in the other room, etc. Has anyone successfully paired this device and if so, how? Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

thank you

• jon

@hilljon86,

Just out of curiosity, was this device new? If it was used previously with another system, it still might think it’s paired to the old system and therefore won’t pair to a new one. Even if this is new, it probably wouldn’t be a bad idea to run the steps of “excluding” this device, and then trying to re-add it to SmartThings.

There is a z-wave exclude function in the iOS app (I think). There is also one in the IDE. If you’re familiar with this go ahead and give it a shot, other wise contact support and they can help you with that.

@chrisb

Thanks for the reply. It should be new, I ordered it new from amazon, but it did not come in retail packaging, just a cardboard box. I have never been able to pair the device, but I will try the ‘General Device Exclusion’ under ‘Z-Wave Utilities’ tonight when I get home.

Should it matter in what order I try to pair the device? For example, should I press the ‘+’ button in the app, then plug in the dimmer and press the button on the dimmer? Or, plug in the dimmer, press the button, and then press the ‘+’ button in the app? Should it matter if I have a lamp plugged in or not? It seems like these things should not matter, but I am getting close to giving up.

thanks again.

No, ideally they shouldn’t matter @hilljon86,