Thermostat heating/cooling

Does anyone know if there is a smartapp that automatically switches between heating/cooling. I have my temp set to 73 degrees. On hot days, when set to Heating, the temp will skyrocket. Conversely, on cold days when set to Cooling, the temp will drop to eskimo. I would like to have it automatically changeover to maintain 73 degrees +/- a few degrees. I have a Honeywell 9000 I am using with Smartthings.

Presuming your thermostat is supported, you could do that in webCore pretty easily.

You would use reaching a temperature as a trigger, Then change the mode to heating or cooling and set the temperature.

1 Like

I will give it a shot. Thanks!!!

Do you think this looks good in order to maintain a constant 74 degree temperature? I also have a piston for going the other direction as well.

Others will chime in too but I think your “deadband” is too tight and you will see a lot if oscillation between heat & cool trying to maintain 74 degrees exactly.

My Honeywell 9580 WiFi thermostat, which automatically switches between A/C and Heat depending on the need, has a minimum 3 degree spread between the heat setpoint and cool setpoint. I.E. If A/C is 76 then my heat has to be 73 or less. My son-in-law, who has a degree in HVAC, told me that the difference between heat/cool should be 2 degrees minimum. YMMV

My Honeywell also has a 3 degree spread, but for some reason it does not changeover from Heating to Cooling (in Auto Mode) which is why I am trying to get it set in Webcore. Maybe I have something set wrong. If you have any suggestions, I am definitely open to all ideas.

You probably already tried this but have you done a hard reset on the thermostat? Auto mode is the best thing. I loved it in Michigan where you use the A/C and heat quite often in the same day. Here in Florida it happens too just not very often.