Thank you Smarthings

There is always lots of negative things that are said on here and I just wanted to take a minute to say how thankful I am for Smarthings.

I’ve been using it for home automation and security for around 2 years. In this time I merged from V1 to V2. I have around 40 things and growing. I use a lot of smarthings handlers and apps but I also have lots of custom ones. I use core for most special automations and it provides a lot of flexibility without knowing how to code.

Im always amazed about all the devices we are able use. The possibilities are just about endless. If you can think it up, you cam probably do it.

I have been having less and less issues as time passes. It seems clear Smarthings is working hard to improve stability and I commend them for their efforts.

In addition, customer support has been quick to respond and is eager to help.

Thanks Smarthings for making my house so cool!

26 Likes

I concur, I also feel ST has been steadily improving, as well as customer service.

Thank you ST, too.

4 Likes

Yes, it allows you to do a lot of stuff. i.e. alarm panel talking to esp8266 which talks to Smartthings which talks to a raspberry Pi which talks to Apple TV which talks to my phone.

3 Likes

Funny - for all of the growing pains, I really do like what it allows me to do. The open platform and this awesome developer community make it a mostly awesome experience. Mostly.

5 Likes

I know there have been a lot of complaints lately, maybe I’ve been lucky but with the exception of the normal mobile presence issues and two contact sensors that quit responding (fixed with a battery pull), it’s been pretty solid for me. The only failures I have had any time recently have been my own doing :slight_smile:

3 Likes

How nice to hear some positive things being said about, in my opinion, a very adaptable platform.