Syncing two simple lights. Is something broken or am I doing it wrong?

I’m new to Smartthings. Have dabbled in automation stuff but am generally a newbie. As such, I don’t know if I just don’t know what I’m doing or if something isn’t working as it should.

I have two yard lights that I would like to basically sync together to sort of emulate a 3 way circuit. One is outside my front door, controlled by a single switch inside. The other is outside my detached garage door, controlled by a single switch inside the garage. When I turn one on, I’d like the other to turn on. When turning one off, the other should turn off, etc. etc.

I have a Smartthings Hub V2 and in each of the two light switches I have installed an Enerwave ZWN-RSM1-PLUS Z-wave relay.

The devices are showing up and seem to be working well. I can actuate both lights from the app and the old toggle switches work as well. I have created 4 automations – if house turns on, turn garage on. If house turns off, turn garage off. If garage turns on, turn house on, and if garage turns off, turn house off. When actuating the lights from the app, the automations appear to work correctly (if a little slow).

When I try using the physical switches in the garage, everything works fine. If I toggle the garage light switch on, the house turns on as well. If off, both go off. However, no automation seems to work when I toggle the physical switch in the house. The house light turns on and off by the switch, but the garage light does not respond. I can hear the relay clicking in the switch so I know the relay is controlling the light. So wtf?

Is this like a loop problem with the automations? Why is it working fine with one switch but not the other? I’ve tried creating the automations in different order but it’s always the house that doesn’t work. Should I be taking a different approach to the automation?

Any suggestions?