ST - Harmony - Jasco plug in dimmer/switch

Hello,

I’m new to ST and have a variety of devices I’m working with. I’ve successfully integrated my Harmony remote and am able to control my WeMo switches with no problem. I am now trying to add a Jasco ZWave plug in dimmer switch so I can adjust the brightness in the room where we watch TV.

I have two of the Jasco devices tied into the ST hub (v2) and can control them through the app and Echo. I’ve synced my remote after adding these modules but can’t figure out why they aren’t showing up like the WeMo switches.

Any direction on what I may be missing is appreciated!

(Jg506) #2

In Harmony app you need to add device > smart home > Smartthings, login and follow instruction to link the accounts and expose your smartthings devices to Harmony.

Thanks @jg506,

I have been able to link the accounts and am able to see my WeMo switches but cannot see the Jasco Z-Wave devices. I see them in my SmartThings app, but when I sync my remote, I can see other changes (I changed the name of one of my WeMo switches just to make sure changes are being reflected) there are still no Z-Wave devices listed.

I’m wondering if Z-Wave devices will only show up if I add the Harmony Extender, or if there is a way to get them recognized without adding another piece of hardware.

(Mark) #4

The harmony extender adds a z-wave radio to your harmony setup. But you already have a z-wave controller in your ST hub, so I doubt that’s the issue.

(Jg506) #5

Each time you add new devices in ST and you want them in Harmony too you have to go through account linking again and explicitly select the new devices. If go through linking again you’ll see that the Jasco switches are not selected.

Thanks, I think I got it now. I ended up completely removing the SmartThings device through the Harmony tool and re-added it. Now when I re-added it, the dimmer was available to choose. Now I can adjust the brightness from the remote.