Square (EU) switches and dimmers

Hello, I am fairly new to the smarthings platform. I am looking for a solution to solve a wife approval problem. I want te make my whole house smart. That includes switches.

Ive been looking everywhere for relays and switches that run locally. Unfortunately the switches out there are not a square and therefor wont fit in my house. The only solutions i could find are the Fibaro dimmer relays for about 50,- each. Does anyone know a cheaper solution to my problem? If not im fine with spending a ton on these but if there are good and safe alternatives i would be very happy.

There are some. The most important question is do you have a neutral at the switch box. If you do, you have a lot more choices because the neutral is used to power the radio inside the switch. There are a few options if you don’t have a neutral, mostly micros from various different brands including Aeotec, Qubino, and others.

What country are you in? That does sometimes make a difference.

For example, if you have any trouble at the switchbox, the TKB line is quite popular and costs less than most of the micros:

There are some inexpensive Chinese Off brand switches that don’t have safety certifications, but I don’t recommend those personally. For fire safety reasons, I look for devices that have good certifications.

There’s a good recent discussion from a UK member you might find of interest:

UK Light switches – My experiences (2020)

1 Like

Goodmorning, thank you for your reply. I live in the Netherlands and I am actually not yet sure if there is a neutral wire since I dont have the key to the house yet. I am currently researching both since allot of houses here tend to have some switches with neutral some without.

1 Like

Sorry, I just noticed you said “run locally.”