Somethings that beeps (UK)

Hi all - I’m new to SmartThings. I have searched the forums to help with this but struggling - although I’m sure there’s an obvious answer.

If the house back door is opened then I want something to beep to warn if the garden gate is currently open (escapee dog!). I’m planning on using a Sensative Strip for the gate (range is OK) and door (or a normal sensor for the door). It’s the ‘something to beep’ bit I’m struggling with. I don’t want a loud siren type thing - just a subtle ‘beep beep’. I’d appreciate any pointers on how I could accomplish this.

Thanks.

Ian

What about speak text over your speakers (sonos, dnla, or other speakers that connect to ST)? You could use webcore to monitor the status of the gate and when the door opens, speak “the gate is open” over your speakers.

The Aeotec siren or the Aeotec doorbell will work. The siren will produce chirps in addition to working as a siren. The doorbell isn’t used as a doorbell, just as a sounder. It will chirp as well, but you can also upload audio files to it to customize the alert to a sound you like.

There are custom device handlers available for both!

2 Likes

Thanks for your quick replies. I can see using a speaker would be useful for other cases but with our smart speakers being in the living area, it probably wouldn’t work so well when the warning is needed when the back door is opened. I hadn’t considered a doorbell type device - I’ll certainly look into that. Learning that with SmartThings it pays to think a bit more abstractly :slight_smile:

Thanks again.