SmartThings should do the basics

Ok Firstly let me start by saying this is not me trying to slam SmartThings, and as a developer myself I totally get teething problems with new features etc. But this system, at least in the UK is being sold as a product, currently that product isn’t functioning anywhere near as advertised.

Firstly the Presence sensor that comes in the starter pack didn’t work, now thats something you can buy on its own, and it didnt even detect when you were away, and this took at least a month to fix.

While that was happening my routines that are triggered by time stopped working, now it seems to add a second to the next run instead of adding 1 day to the next run (hence not triggering after the first time)… how on earth has that mistake been made?

And now comes the point where the Presence sensor is fixed, but instead the security feature now spams the hell out of you with security alerts… when the security is set to disarmed, and it takes a lot of fiddling to get it to stop.

There is so many ideas I have to use SmartThings, and to do them costs a hell of a lot of money for all the extra sensors and devices that will work with SmartThings, but before I can justify it to myself the basics need to work, and I just can’t see the light at the end of this seemingly long tunnel. The guy that I seem to deal with a lot on support email is great but the engineering team need to sort this out, this isn’t some sort of beta test.

If anyone has more information on why we seem to get so many issues/When they might be fixed/Are they going to be fixed(the amount of issues im wondering if this endevour is going to give up?)/and if there are any basics going wrong for yourself post them here. :smile:

7 Likes