SmartThings Outdoor compatible door sensor

Newbie here. Thanks for the add!

I am looking to monitor the status of my garage door. I have a couple of the ST sensors but they are rated between 32-104 degrees and my garage gets colder and warmer than this. My garage sees usual temps between 0-114 degrees, depending on the season.

Is there a sensor with a larger temperature range or an outdoor Z-wave door sensor, or a ST compatible input that I can use my existing hardwired garage door sensor with?

Thanks in advance!

This is perfect! Thanks for your help.

I am looking for sensor to install on my mail box, I have low temperature here too.

I use an Iris sensor in my mailbox and garage, both work fine. Mailbox seems to drain more than my other sensors, so I just replace the battery more often,

1 Like

I’m seeing the same results with my mailbox application of the Iris 2nd gen contact sensor. This is more than likely due to temperature extremes and operating outside of the optimal temperature range for the battery (not the sensor). The sensor is rated for normal operation from 32°F to 104°F (0°C to 40°C), and safe storage from -4°F to 122°F (-20°C to 50°C).

I Just test Xiaomi Door/Window and Samsung SmartThings Multipurpose Sensor but the problem now is the distance from hub to mail box, I need repeater :frowning:

Seems like those sensor are pretty cheap if I ever had to replace one too.

Emersonvier,

If you are using Z-Wave devices it is possible to add another Z-Wave device to a room in the house closest to the mailbox so that the new z-wave device will act as a repeater so that you do not have to purchase additional equipment.

@Ctate, I connect my “Cree Connected LED Bulb” on my garage than the Xiaomi Door/Window work :slight_smile:

1 Like