SmartThings on PC with Bluestacks

I don’t know about you folks, but I HATE using a mobile app when my computer is sitting right there in front of me. I’m a noob with SmartThings and as I’m trying to figure it out, I’m just meandering around the menu system. I like that the rules engine is web-based (sort of - I wish I could host it locally) and Smart Tiles works from my PC, obviously. The ST app continues to annoy me, though.

Then I remembered about Bluestacks! It’s a piece of free software that lets you run Android apps from your PC. It’s able to sync up with Google Play and essentially acts just like the apps on your phone, but with the bigger screen, easier mouse and keyboard controls, etc.

Anyway, if you’re like me, you may appreciate using it: http://www.bluestacks.com/

2 Likes

You can also run it under Chrome browser with ARChon which is a lot lighter-weight than Bluestacks (or HandyAndy).

SmartThings through ARChon is a little more complex to set up though (and doesn’t have an easy version upgrade procedure), but works very well once it is configured.

LOL… I can’t think of a single reason I would want to run another instantiation of the mobile app. Hell, I don’t even use the ones on my phones/tablets (unless I have to).

@scottinpollock - How do you do your primary setup? Sharp Tools or The Rules Builder or something?