Smartthings devices keep dropping off

I’m still relatively new to the smartthings, but recently my devices keep dropping off the network and I either have to hard reset them or pull the plug on my smartthings hub and then do a Repair Z-Wave Network, which doesn’t always fix the issue and I am still forced to hard reset the motion sensors etc.

The hub is in a location were it’s away from any other electrical interference such as a modem/router etc, and yet I still encounter issues. Does anyone know why this might be happening? I’ve noticed that the batteries that are used in the devices don’t exactly fit snugly, I’m wondering if the batteries aren’t seated correctly and that’s why they drop off :confused:

But I’ve also heard people say to use these plugs which can bounce the signal to the hub, a mesh of some sort.

Any help or advice would be gratefully received.

1 Like

Are these devices actually designed by SmartThings? If not, then what devices do you have? The brand of devices do make a difference as they are all not built equally.

1 Like

They are all Samsung devices. Mainly the multi-sensors and the motion sensors dropping off. I have been looking at Aeotec’s z-wave rage extender plugs to create a ‘mesh’ in the house. Would these work to help with drop out though?

Samsung uses the ZigBee protocol on a lot of their devices. I know that the multi sensors are ZigBee and have proven themselves to be unreliable in my setup.

I don’t know if this is fact, but to “Rebuild” the ZigBee network, as there is no repair utility, you have to unplug the HUB and remove the batteries and let it sit for 15 minutes.

See if that helps.

My official advice is to drop the Samsung Devices and go with Iris motions and sensors…