Smartthing high data usage

Hello All,

I’m new to the SmartThings community and v2 hub. I just built a house in the boonies and was required to get a data plan from Verizon for installed home internet. In other words, I’m limited on data now.

We just moved in the house on Sunday. I have the hub hooked up and only running one thing. A Schlage front door lock. I also have 2 Ecobee thermostats connected.

I am getting a crazy high data drain/usage from the hub. About 150mb per 30 minutes. When I disconnect the hub from my router, the drain stops.
This seems very high and I don’t think it’s right.

Does anyone have any ideas on what could be causing the high data usage and how to stop it? I am planning to run the entire house off the hub and Amazon Echo, but I’m not sure I’ll be able to if I can’t get the data usage under control.

Thanks in advance for any help or ideas.

Trever

Shouldn’t be the ST hub. Mine ran under 10 mb per day for the few days this week when I had it running over a cellular connection.

2 Likes

So you changed your badge, but what does it say? I cannot read it…:slight_smile:

1 Like

It’s probably my phone screen, although I have a note, and still cannot :eyeglasses:

2 Likes

Yea it probably doesn’t work as well as I had hoped…

It has the Stranger Things logo in the Smart Things logo… kinda of how a feel about how ST works.

If I have to explain it, it clearly doesn’t work well.

1 Like

Try white letters, it might help. The red looks blurry and I don’t think I had too many beers…

Just a complete shot in the dark, but could it have just been the hub updating ? If it is a new hub it would undoubtedly need a few firmware updates.

That’s possible. Is there anyway to check the hub for data usage and what might be consuming it?

Whats the latest firmware update?

I should be on the latest, and I have 000.014.00040