SmarThings Multi v2.0?

I was changing out a battery in one of my door mounted Muti’s a few days ago when that little light bulb in my head went off… and I started playing “what if”…

Like a lot of you, I have an existing wired alarm system in place. There is a door sensor from that system installed next to where I mounted my Multi. I was thinking that they both triggered by a separation of a magnet from the other side to indicate an “open” state. I remember that a few of us were posting about some how merging the current wired system in with the SmartThings system and then thought why not!

I don’t have the knowledge to do this but why not create a v2.0 Multi that has say… 2 wired input leads on one side of the multi and 2 wired output leads on the other. I could simply splice in to the wiring of the current wired system and I would then have each door working with my SmartThings system. I have no comment on the cosmetics, but it would work… wouldn’t it?

Obviously not the most grateful solution but I think you get the idea. The Multi v2.0 itself could even be installed on the wiring closet side of the wires, out of site from the door… back by the box where all the wires come together. Of course, the rest of the Multi’s features would be pointless because the temp wont move, the motion sensor wont move, etc… it would be nothing more than an Open/Close sensor. But I feel there may be a demand for something like this.

Thoughts?

I believe what you are looking to do is already available with the Schalge zwave contact sensor. It has some terminals inside of it that you can connect an external wire to. It’s mentioned in a few of the reviews on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Schlage-RS100HC-SL-Window-Intelligence/product-reviews/B008Q5CTBE/ref=dp_top_cm_cr_acr_txt?showViewpoints=1

Why not just use a plain open/close sensor?