Smart switches/ outlets help

Hi
I’ll start this letting everyone know I am new to all of this, so I apologize for my ignorance.

I just purchased an older home with no overhead lighting. Each bedroom has 1 switch that controls 1 outlet, they all also have 3 outlets that are always on.

I would like to install something that would allow me to turn the switch on and it would turn on lamps that are not actually plugged into the the outlet that is currently controlled by that switch.

Could I replace the current dumb switch with a smart switch to control smart plugs which the lamps are plugged into to? Could I use smart bulbs in the lamps rather than the smart plugs. Sorry I don’t really know how this stuff works!

Any advice would be appreciated!

Welcome to the community.

One thing you’re going to need to know to help figure out the possibilities is whether you have a neutral wire in all your switch junction boxes.

Also we’ll need to know what country you’re in.

1 Like

Welcome! :sunglasses:Absolutely, any of that is possible. And, as @HalD mentioned, we do need to know what country you are in as the device selection does vary.

I myself am in the United States living in a house that was built in 1955 and had exactly the same set up.

What we did in most rooms was put a plug-in hanging lamp into the regular dumb outlet. We then put smart bulbs in the lamp. And we used a “smart switch cover“ which is a battery powered device that goes over the existing switch, and is able to get a message to the bulbs in the lamp. That gave us dimming at the wall switch and did not require any rewiring, with a minimal dollar investment. It was also completely intuitive for guests and other visitors. And we could easily add voice control. And in some rooms the same wall switch also turns on a table lamp on two sides of the room, as well as the overhead pendant light. :sunglasses::level_slider::bulb::bulb::bulb: