Scenes triggered by automations not running consistently (2021 app)

Hello ST Community! I have been using ST since 2015 but this is the first time I’m creating a community account and posting because before now things seemed to work great with my old hub and the old app. Now, I’ve upgraded to the latest app and upgraded from my old v1 hub and while it was kinda fun to set things up from scratch, I’m having trouble with some of my scenes.

I have really basic scenes set up: one for each location mode to transition manually to that mode, one to turn some of my main lights one, one to turn all my lights off, and a few that simply set the thermostat to different temperatures.

The scenes I am having the most trouble with are for my thermostat (because when they don’t work, it really sucks). A little background for my setup:

• I have a time of use plan with my electric company through which during the hours of 15:00 - 20:00 (referred to as peak hours), electricity is charged more per kWh
  • The basic automations are: 83 degrees when I’m away, 78 when I’m home during the day, and 74 at night. The thermostat is turned completely off at the beginning of peak hours and turned on again at the end. It is also pre-cooled before peak hours because I live in a very hot area. Since there are many permutations of the time of the day and my presence status, there are at least a dozen of these automations

The automation to turn my AC off at the beginning of peak hours does not invoke a scene but rather adjusts the thermostat directly since there are no other contexts where I need to turn it off completely. This works 100% of the time.