Replacing the Arduino Thing Shield with an xBee in transparent mode

Continuing the discussion from Weather underground to ZigBee custom device type:

Recently @BenB2016 asked If I would be interested in working with him to port over my Propeller based ZigBee project board and cluster library to the Arduino platform since the Arduino Thing Shield is a little hard to get your hands on these days. After kicking a few ideas around with Ben and group I think we have come up with an idea that may allow Arduino users to use an off the shelf xBee shield with a Digi ZB S2C chip plugged into the socket. @geko, and @Ben have both found boards that may work for this and I will let them re-post the links here if they have time. If not you can check them out by clicking on the previous discussion above.

Let me start off by saying I have very little experience with the Arduino. I spend most of my time jumping between propeller based and raspberry pi based projects. One thing almost all my projects have in common is ZigBee and Digiā€™s xBee ZB radio. So Iā€™m looking for input from the Arduino community to keep me on track and I think once we have it all laid-out you guys can just run with it. Things are very much at the spit-balling stage. Someone may have already done this or have a better solution. Donā€™t be shy not going to hurt my feelings one little bit just chime in would love to hear about it!!