XBee S2C with Arduino & SmartThings

Hello all,

So I’m still fairly new to the ZigBee & SmartThings platforms, but I’ve worked with Arduino for quite some time. I am attempting to replicate the functionality of the SmartThings Arduino Shield that was discontinued some time ago and have gotten close (as least I think so) over the past few weeks.

So far I’ve managed to successfully get a ‘Xbee S2C’ to join the ‘SmartThings Hub V2’ network and show up as a thing using XCTU and following George’s guide here (https://www.falco.co.nz/electronic-projects/xbee-to-smartthings/).

EDIT: I should also note that I am communicating between the ‘XBee S2C’ and ‘XCTU’ pc application using a Seeeduino Xbee Shield V2.1. In order to configure the Xbee, I first upload a blank sketch in the ‘Arduino IDE’ and then open up XCTU and ‘Add Radio’ to connect to the Xbee. Afterwards, I swap the RX/TX adjustable pins so that data from the Arduino will be sent to the Xbee, rather than the Arduino acting strictly as a programmer for the ‘Xbee’ during initial configuration.

I’ve also gotten the Arduino to send the DS18B20 temperature data in the correct hex format over TX (read in the serial console), and it should be sending to the RX of the Xbee, I just don’t think the Xbee is configured properly to understand the data it’s seeing.

Note: The Xbee he used was not the same as my Xbee S2C module, so the profile configuration file he linked did not work by default. To get it to work with the S2C module, I just went through and replaced each field manually and then re-saved it as a profile for the S2C and following the rest of the tutorial worked fine.