Recommendations on what to do for a hub for a new home setup now that Samsung has discontinued them?

I’ve been using smart things for about 6 years.

I’m about to set up a new house and went to buy a new hub and see that they’re discontinued. From a bit of research last night I see that Aeotec we’ll be taking them over but that they’re only available in Europe at this point. I see North America is coming but I need to set this up in February.

I see that there’s a Wi-Fi option from Samsung that also has a smart hub. (I want to use Nest Wifi but if I could turn off the wifi option of the Samsung one and just use the hub that might work?)

I also see that I can get a V3 smart thing hub off eBay for about the same cost that they were new. Seems like these are used so not sure how easy it is to factory reset those.

Obviously I guess switching to wink or hubitat could be an option too but I’m used to smart things and really need the ease of connection as my time these days is so limited to try and figure things out.

What’s the learned recommendation of this community as to how to set up a new home when I can’t buy a hub direct anymore?

Thanks very much in advance for any help!

recommendation - don’t get wink :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I bought my 2 hubs from ebay and I’ve seen them go there for well below their retail price. As you said, the wifi hub is an option but you cannot turn off the wifi from what I understand but that doesn’t keep you from using a regular wifi router for your internet, Stay away from wink!!! I fully recommend a used V3 or V2 hub if you want to stay with ST

Thanks! I used wink when it first came out but haven’t touched it since. I setup smartthings when I moved into this house and it’s been extremely reliable. Granted I don’t go deep into it, I have done a couple DHs and some cool routines