Recommendations for Smart Speakers?

Hi, I’m still relatively new to SmartThings (I’ve had my Aeotec V3 hub for just over a month now), and I’m interested in integrating a smart speaker into my system. The main thing I want to do is to be able to control it through the SmartThings app and use it in routines, e.g., making it read an alarm out loud when a trigger is fulfilled. I basically want a device that resembles the functionality of the Apple Homepod in Apple’s Homekit ecosystem or that of an Echo Dot in Amazon’s world.

I’m aware that Samsung was on the brink of launching its own smart speaker a few years ago (Galaxy Home Mini), but they scrapped that just before launch, so only a few prototypes were ever manufactured. In the SmartThings app, there’s a category for smart speakers as well as speakers, but the devices listed there are a bit weird; for example, it looks like there’s only one smart speaker supported, called “new Harman Kardon Certi” with no picture, and I haven’t yet deciphered what that is supposed to refer to. Googling the name leads to nothing.

Therefore, I’m a bit confused about whether smart speakers actually work in SmartThings and, if so, how you guys have integrated them. Though I’m not too fond of Amazon’s Alexa, is there a possibility of integrating an Echo Dot into SmartThings, either through an edge driver or Alexa switches and would you recommend that? (I’m in Europe btw)

You can use any Amazon echo device or I believe any Google home device, but the integration will be only one way. That is, you can tell the smart speaker to have a SmartThings-controlled device do something and that will probably happen.