Recommendations for Heating Control

Hi, I’m new to the Smartthings world and just playing around with the Starter kit and a few additions devices.

One of my aims is to be able to control my heating remotely, only a small house so don’t need zones etc, just want to be able to save a bit of energy, by having it turn off when I’m not at home, and being able to turn it on remotely (geofenced) when it’s wet and miserable and I don’t want to return to a cold house.
Just a standard Combi boiler, no hot water tank or A/C. Hive or Nest may be overkill with too much overlap with ST, can anybody recommend some alternatives?

I originally had a Nest thermostat but switched to the 2Gig CT100 Z-Wave thermostat (http://2gig.com/products/z-wave-automation-accessories/smart-thermostats/) a couple of years ago. It isn’t fancy but does exactly what I want, which is to accept commands from my ST hub. I can remotely change the mode, fan and temperature settings. It can use both power from a common wire or from batteries.

I’m not affiliated with them at all but cannot recommend Tado enough! From customer support through to 5-10 minute install (specific to your heating system) it’s pretty darn simple and effective and has paid for itself in 5-months of being installed.

They’re huge in Germany and gradually branching out here. If you contact them before buying and tell them what you’d like, they seem to be happy enough to throw in a 10% discount here and there…or at least they have 3 times with me. So worth a shot!

Integrates with ST, DH’s are available, it’s Alexa and HomeKit compatible. Can’t ask for more really.