REALLY not understanding how to wire 4-way - can anyone step-by-step walkthrough?

All,

I’ve been dreading this circuit for the last 6 months. I’ve finished replacing all the toggle switches in my house to GE Z-Wave Plus with minimal fuss except this last circuit, a chandelier in my foyer that is on a 4-way switch.

To be blunt, I am at a total loss how to do this. I have tried asking on my local handyman Facebook group, and apparently installing 3 switches is too small a job for anyone to bother with.

There are a couple of topics dealing with 4-way switches on SmartThings community, but frankly they’re abstract diagrams that don’t make a lot of sense and I’m hoping to get a “this wire goes here, that wire goes there” sort of guide.

In my circuit is the following:
The 4-way switch: Leviton 50504-2W
The 3-way switches: Leviton 1453-2W

The 4-way is wired with two black wires on the right, one going to a black terminal and one to a copper, and two red wires on the left in a similar configuration. I’ve attached a photo for clarity. Thanks in advance!

A 4-way scenario can make your head hurt for sure. If you search around though, you should find diagrams of how 4-way switches are wired.

If I recall correctly GE/Jasco does not include instructions for using their switches in 4-way scenarios. However. if you contact them they will either email or send you a link to a document that shows you how to use their master switch and two add-in switches.

This may help. The trick is to find where the electricity comes in from the circuit breaker first, that is where your main switch goes. Then from there you travel out to your addon switches. You may need to connect the hot wires along the way to get to your light with wire nuts.

NOTE if there is a gfci in the mix, you may need an electrician. I had to call one because every time I hooked it up, it would pop the gfci. Still don’t understand how he fixed that.

Good luck