Question on alarm panel/monitoring

I’m just starting to learn about automation possibilities and was researching various options for my home. What I am trying to accomplish is to have an alarm panel that I can utilize z-wave capabilities on WITHOUT having to pay for any sort of monthly monitoring service (hence why I’m a fan of ST!) Is this even possible? I was looking at the Lynx Touch 7000 panel, but everywhere I look I am reading that some sort of monthly service is required no matter what to simply “activate” or “maintain” the wifi and/or z-wave functionality. Please forgive my ignorance in advance!

I was looking at the Lynx line also (5200) and you do need to pay a monthly fee IF you want offsite access/control. Honeywell has an app that gives you that but only within your own wifi network. To use the Total Connect 2.0 software, you have to pay the monthly fee. It’s available without monitoring, but still a monthly fee. Lynx is probably the best system of its kind, but I chose to go with a Zwave solution because it is much more flexible and I believe that is where the future is headed.

ST can sort of do most of what you want but it’s not an “out of the box” solution. First, there is no hardware panel, but most are using an app called SmartTiles paired with a tablet for similar functionality. The V2 of the ST hub was supposed to have local execution (without internet connection) but at launch, only one app (for lights) is capable of that. So currently, the apps that would give you the “alarm system” functionality still rely on the ST cloud which has had reliability/latency problems, but is rumored to be getting better. Until all devices and apps that comprise your system run locally, I would not bet my family’s safety on such a system.

So, it does sound like with the Honeywell panels, you have to pay someone somewhere for the offsite access. Bummer.