Problem connecting GE light switch: Does NEXIA Interfere with this?

SmartThings V2 Hub newbie here. Just got it and trying to connect my first device to it which is a GE Z-wave light switch. It’s a no go as the hub can’t find it. First tried it about 30 feet away then gave up so I move the hub about 5 feet away. I tried to reset the GE light switch via the air gap then toggled the switch while the hub was trying to locate new devices. I even used the ST app mode to specifically add a GE light switch. This is such a basic thing I’m trying to do and it’s so frustrating.

Here’s the caveat…I have a Nexia thermostat which also happens to have a Z-wave bridge in it. The Nexia thermostat allows me add one Z-wave device for free. More than one Z-wave device then you have to pay a $9.99 monthly subscription fee…ergo, why I bought the SmartThings Hub. My question is: Can the ST hub and the Nexia thermostat co-exist. I ask because I have the Nexia device controlling another GE light switch therefore the Nexia bridge is active right now. Because I’m having a problem connecting my ST Hub to a second GE light switch I thought that perhaps the problem is the Nexia device.

Any ideas???

Is it possible that your switch was once connected to the Nexia bridge? If you are not sure, try removing all devices from the Nexia bridge then add the thermostat back to the Nexia bridge. I was able to add devices to ST without issue while still having a few devices connected to the Nexia .

1 Like

Yes, this switch was connected at one time but I disconnected it from the Nexia bridge because I decided I wanted the other GE switch to be my “free” Nexia device. It was “formally” removed from Nexia and the other one was added in. I guess I’ll take a second look at this…I was thinking I should just remove all devices from the Nexia bridge.

So you say you have both a Nexia bridge working with Z-wave devices and a ST hub in the same environment?