[OBSOLETE] Aeon Labs Aeotec Smart Dimmer 6 Device Handler

Hey all! I’ve created an improved device handler for the Aeon Labs Aeotec Smart Dimmer 6 (based on previous work by @Robert_Vandervoort and James Pansarasa) and I figured it’s time to share it with the world. Though this happens to be my first project using SmartThings (and my first post on the forums), I’ve been developing software for nearly 10 years.

Some improvements include the ability to blink the device (with configurable duration and cycle rate), immediate on/off (instead of dimming to on or off), an improved color picker integration, and better configuration management.

On the roadmap:

• Ramp rates (a previous implementation was buggy, so the feature was redacted)
  • Expose “Current Overload Protection” configuration option

This is a screenshot of the details view on Android:

This link always goes to the most up to date version of the device handler:
https://gitlab.bdfoster.com/bdfoster/SmartThings/raw/master/device-handlers/AeonLabsAeotecSmartDimmer6.groovy

You can check out all of my device handlers here.

Feedback on ways to improve this handler (whether it’s adding new features or fixing bugs) is always welcome.

Enjoy!

2 Likes

The issue with parameter handling has been fixed and pushed to the link above. Also, some parameters have been added to allow for adjustment of how long to blink, the blink cycle duration, the number of steps per second (ramp rate) when dimming, along with previous parameters for handling the LED behavior and color as well as the monitoring interval.

Way to go…I’ll check it out!

Nice job! But… This handler is only 1 of 10 times working.

It rarly records the data from the device, and ST thinks that the device is still on even though it is turned off.

Could you please help?

I’d love to help. The device handlers seems to work on my setup, so I need some details to reproduce what you are seeing.