Notification if a device or hub has not checked in? (something that oversee my hub and everything attached to it)

Hi everyone,

I love the Google Sheets reporting of home data, and now have 9 Aeon Multisensor 6s, plus various other devices. It’s about 20 devices and over 70 individual sensors in aggregate. I am into environmental data logging, not house control.

But now I have an embarrassment of riches problem. It’s hard to know when a device or sensor has quit. Sometimes it’s days before I notice someone’s batteries died, or whatever. I would like a notification when something has stopped reporting. I don’t know if something like this exists.

Ideally here’s what it might do:

• I don’t want to have to add and remove individual devices from the device (app) side, if at all possible. (Moving through all those add/create/modify script screens in the klunky Smartthings app.) I just want to add or remove devices at the hub level. Radio checkmarks in the web interface, or something. Far better yet, default to monitoring every device (not only when script first runs, but also for newly added devices). Then what needs to be done actively is removing some device(s) from monitoring, or changing the alarm time for some devices away from the default time (see next).
  • I have a lot of different kinds of devices, some with short reporting periods, some very long. The script should be able to be told what is a reasonable length of time for each, before sounding an alarm. Better yet, make your own categories, then assign devices to these categories. (This would let you change settings for all of a given type of device easily. Or have “Long period devices” and “Short period”, etc.)