Notification for Watersensor

Hi,

I am pretty new to this smartthings gateway and I am a little bit overcharged with the all the functions of Smartapps etc.

Anyway I bought an Abus Zwave water leak sensor https://products.z-wavealliance.org/products/3091?selectedFrequencyId=1 and it works fine. It is categorised in the smart things home monitor, but I am not able to create a rule for this, it won t show up to select it for a rule.

I read something that I can change it to a switch to run a rule, but would like to try other action.

I use the new smartthings app and the device is an
Abus Waterleak sensor. Unfortunately I can t find this product as an supporter device but it was easy to connect also to find a topic about that Produkt isn’t that easy :neutral_face:

I just need a small advice how to create a rule, that when the sensor turn to wet to geht a notice like text message or email or activate another thing.

Thank you in advance

Marc

The reason you don’t see it as an option to select in the rules is that it wasn’t recognized as a water leak sensor, instead it was paired as a generic device (which has no features/capabilties). You would need to open the IDE at https://account.smartthings.com and change the device handler to Z-Wave Water Sensor, follow the instructions here: RBOY APPS SmartThings

If your device was paired before installing the Device Handler above, follow these additional steps to change the Device Handler used by your device:
In the IDE, click on “My Devices” on the top
Click on your existing device (thermostat/lock etc which you want to change)
Scroll down and click on “Edit”
Under “Type *” select the new device handler you just created (it will show up at the bottom of the list)
Scroll to the bottom of the page and click “Update”

This will force ST to use the Water leak device handler for your device and now you should be able to use it in your Automation rules