Noob help please -- Popp dimmer (UK model 123603)

Hi All, ST and z-wave noob here. Not sure if I’m posting in the correct section but here goes.

I am beginning a z-wave system, primarily for the control of lighting.

My meagre kit so far consists of a Popp dimmer socket and an ST hub (v2)

I have associated my dimmer socket with the hub and can control my lighting.

My question. The Popp dimmer (UK model 123603) has a multitude of configurable settings. I need to change these to optimise it for some LED bulbs I have. I have no idea how to configure these parameters using the ST hub. From the little information I have gained by searching the web, it appears I need to add a device handler. Is this correct? If so, I’m thinking that perhaps the ST hub isn’t what I need (and perhaps I would be better off with Vera) as I have no coding experience or knowledge.

Please advise. Thanks :slight_smile:

Hi, we all have to start somewhere, yes you will need a custom device type to set the options, I have taken a look at the manual here and can see the options.

I am not a coder either but I have knocked you up a custom device type that should work

to install this just goto your Smartthings device handlers page here if you are in the US or here if you are in the UK and then click on

then choose the from code tab and paste in the code from my github page above and then click on Create

you will see near the bottom of the code the resetParams2StDefaults() section, this contains all the parameters from the manual that are currently set to the default options

for example below for parameter number 1, the default value is 3, just change any of the parameters values between the for the desired value as per the manual,

cmds << zwave.configurationV1.configurationSet(configurationValue: [3], parameterNumber: 1, size: 1).format()

once you have finished then just click on the set location on the right of the page

then select your popp device from the dropdown and click install