Newbie questions: Door left open sensor, what brand/system?

Complete newbie here.
We have a door in the garage that gets left open on occasion. I’d like to set up a sensor that will alert my phone if it’s open more than 15 minutes even when I’m not at home. I have zero experience with smart home stuff, so I’m looking for advice.

I see 20 different compatible equipment makers in the supported sensors listing. Each seemingly with it’s own hubs and needs. Where is a fellow to start? I’m not looking to do a major installation, just accomplish a simple sensor for a reasonable price.

When I looked at the brand list, none are familiar to me, so I can’t even go with “here’s a name you can trust” factor LOL

Would someone with experience help a guy out and point me at the right brand sensor and associated devices (hub) that I should be looking at for this?

I really appreciate any help you can provide.

Welcome! :sunglasses:

It’s definitely a doable project, but we do need to ask a few questions first.

There are many sensors that can give you an instant alert as soon as a door is opened. It’s the “wait 15 minutes before notifying” part that requires a more sophisticated system. So it’s no longer just about the specific sensor, it’s about the capabilities that the rule creator for the specific system provides. The exact same sensor might be able to trigger with a delay on one system but not another. So you’ll start by looking at the rule creation capabilities of the different home automation systems, then after you’ve selected one, choose from the sensors that work with it. :thinking:

So we need to first ask two things: what country are you in? And what kind of phone do you have (android, apple, windows, etc)? The options are a little different depending on the answers.