Newbie: First automation of Keen HVAC vent. Misc questions

So I’m brand new to ST. All I have so far is a v2 ST Hub and a KEEN SmartVent. I have STSC (ST Samsung Connect) installed on my iPhone (because I was initially told to do so by support). But since STSC didn’t seem to work on my iPad, I installed STC (ST Classic) on the iPad. Did all that a few weeks ago…

So today, I decided to write an “automation”, since I saw that listed in both STSC and STC. So on my iPad I opened STC and created an automation I named “Turn Heat on in Guest Rm”. I didn’t see a logical choice for my KEEN vent, so I chose “Turn on these lights or switches”, and assigned it to act on KEEN. I saved it, then tried to run it. Nothing happened at vent (louvers were/are still closed). Then I thought - maybe this literally just turns the vent on/off, rather than control the louvers of the vent which can open from 0 - 100%. But I see no way to control the louvers… Obviously a newbie lack of understanding :slight_smile:

Oddly, when I look at STSC on my iPhone, it does not list any automations. It’s been over 20 mins since I created the automation on my iPad, so the cloud couldn’t be that slow in syncing, right?

I also stumbled into the ST IDE web site - I did not know that existed until yesterday :slight_smile: . I see no signs of automations in this IDE, just My SmartApps. And they look like they are code-based (Groovy, which I know nothing about, yet).

Lost in ST Space :slight_smile:

I’m also wondering what the best resource(s) are for starting off with ST? The ST “Getting Started” page sounded like it would be a good place, but it doesn’t really get into any of the details, like how do I create an automation? Instead it quickly fades into oblivion… Or I need another coffee because it’s right in front of me? :slight_smile: