New User Light Switch Query (UK)

(Shaun Muir) #1

Evening all,

Firstly, sorry of this has been asked a hundred times, but trying to get my head around everything as i am new to ST.

Been reading a lot but kinda have an info overload …

So… i want to change my lounge light switch. I have a standard UK double switch, each one controlling one ceiling light. Am i right in thinking i need something like the TKB TZ37 , so that i have a switch that will control 2 separate loads ?

Thinking about it… each ceiling light fixture has 7 led bulbs in, will this affect the type of switch needed ?

Thanks in advance…

(Bob) #2

I’m right assuming you’re in the uk from your post.
Personally I have a thing for LightwaveRF but thats not suitable for your query.
The man that springs to mind because I think a Fibaro will do the trick and @RobinWinbourne is your man. Hope you don’t mind Mr Fibaro guru. :wink:

(Shaun Muir) #3

Thank you, yup am in the UK… only just got the ST 2 days ago, and picked up 2 Fibaro motion sensors to go with it. Got these working and have the general idea about how it all works, but knowing the right components to buy seems a little trickier when it comes to electrical connections… thanks again…

(Robin) #4

Fibaro modules are great for the UK… I wouldn’t use anything else.

Take a look at vesternet.com for some of the best prices.

If you want the two circuits to be dimmable (bulbs permitting) then go for 2nr Fibaro Dimmer 2 modules.

If you’re happy with on/off then go for the double switch (not the double relay switch).

Common snagging points:

Back box size… one module will fit in a 22mm deep box but you’ll struggle with 2 modules even in a 47mm box. Good thing is that modules can go in the ceiling (behind the primary light fitting) instead, or, in stud walls with those plastic pop-out boxes, you can place them in the cavity behind the switch box.