Need help on detecting when the garbage truck arrives

Hello
Here’s a little backstory. I’m an apartment manager of a small complex in Los Angeles. Just about a year or so ago they made it so that nobody has a choice who services their trash. The city just designated which company serviced which area. Then the companies jacked up their prices 2 or 3 times since no one had a say or choice to choose another company. One of those ridiculous fees that we are being changed is a gate opener/key fee. For the driver to push a button on a remote they charge $89.00 per push. They come twice a week that’s 2 fees. I will not leave to gate open from 6am-6pm for the safety of my tenants.
I’m trying to figure out a way to automate it so somehow when the trucks come in the alley the gate opens automatically for them BUT for only them and not every vehicle that comes down the back alley.
The only way I was thinking is to have a security camera let’s say a ring doorbell but install it higher then normal to the building then mask out the bottom of the camera to the height of the largest car or truck so that they dont set off a motion alert and since the garbage vehicles are taller the normal vehicles it would trigger movement in the unmasked area of the camera and set off a notification or something that triggers the garbage gate to open. I already have a switch set up for the garage gate. …
What are your thoughts or ideas on how I would go about achieving this and if what I said was plausible then what camera would work best for what I need it to do?

** its $89.00 for the whole month. It’s still a ridiculous fee just to push a button on a remote

Thanks
Chad

If the garbage truck is the tallest truck that goes in the ally, then what your proposing would definitely work. You can restrict the automation to only work on garbage days.

Also, you could set it to have a second sensor down lower and the automation to be triggered when both are active.