Motion Sensor to turn light on? How does this all work?

Hello Everyone,
I’m brand new to the SmartThings world and I need a little guidance.
My goal is to turn on a light in my room whenever someone climbs up the stairs to my floor.
My first question is- How is it all connected? (How can I tell the light to turn on when the Motion Sensor finds movement?)
Second question- Which Motion Sensor do you think will be best for my goal?

Thanks!

GE sells a motion sensing switch (model 26931) and dimmer (model 26933)…Check them out on Amazon. The community has come up with an amazing device handler for them both that is extremely customizable.

The first question you have to answer is what do you want to control? I know you want to control a light, but are you trying to control a smart bulb in a lamp that is plugged into an unswitched receptacle or are you trying to control a switch that controls the power to the light you want to turn on?

Once that is settled and you have the proper bulb/switch, then you can use the Smartthings motion sensor (although there are a lot of others as well) placed in the stairwell.

Once you have those two pieces, the SmartLighting app (in the Classic ST app) will do what you want.

The app I use is the stock smart lighting app. It runs locally. I specifically use that for most of my motion lights. Pick a light, pick what triggers it and then set up options. For instance, my bedroom lights turn on if someone enters them but only if the luminescence is below 10lux and only up until I go to bed. They also shut off the lights after 5 minutes of leaving the room.

My bathroom lights dim to 50% from 6AM to 10AM if the luminescence is below 10lux for getting ready for work. 20% from 10AM until 10PM, 1% from 10PM until 6AM to keep from blinding me if I get up in the middle of the night. I had to do that with scenes.