LiFX Color/Brightness Change Over Time

Hey all, I’m relatively new to the SmartThings community and I’m looking for some advice.

I currently have 2 LiFX Color 1000 bulbs, and just ordered another 4 after having great experiences with them. I don’t mind managing most of the color changes/white temperatures through the LiFX app, but I want to set my wife up with the SmartThings app (or perhaps just an Aeon Minimote, which I just ordered as well) to do several things that I don’t seem to be able to do within the SmartThings app, and thought someone could be of assistance.

Primarily, I want to be able to press a button on the remote to trigger a color change (sometimes from one white temperature to another white temperature, sometimes from white to a color, color to white, etc.) and/or a gradual increase or decrease in brightness. I can set up timed events (schedule) in the LiFX app without any problem, and I get nice, smooth transitions between colors and brightness levels. However, most of the SmartApps I’ve seen that have claimed to do the same either require extremely long times (as they’re triggered minutely) or only work with the old LiFX API. And timed events don’t always correspond properly to my wife and I’s daily routines.

I read somewhere that the hue bulbs support a transitionTime parameter (or something similar), but I swear, for the life of me, I cannot find any sort of transition time setting for the LiFX bulbs, either by example or by documentation. I also cannot find an appropriate set of API documentation that corresponds with the SmartApp > LiFX (Connect) API.

Does anyone have any suggestions for either a SmartApp that will handle this, or can give me some direction on the coding side? I’m almost thinking I need to build a full app with OAuth permissions and bypass the standard connect API. Thanks in advance.

1 Like