Kitchen - under cupboard strip leds

I’m not technical but am having a new kitchen and would like the lighting integrated with my ST hub.
I have 4 small cupboards in different areas of the kitchen and I want to put controlled led strip lights under them. All of the strip light packs (Hue, Fibaro etc) have strips that are way longer than I need. If I were to go with a Fibaro Rgbw controller (or similar) what other kit would I need other than the strip and a power unit. Also, would I need 4 separate controllers?
I would also like to control the ceiling down lighters, would I need a similar controller for that?

If you have still got an electrician onsite (or the work hasnt happened yet), then get them to run some 5 core cable from 3 of the kitchen cabinets back to the fourth, and ask them to install a switched light cable to the same point. If you have minimal space then all four cabinets can have a 5core cable going back to another point - which is where you would install the Fibaro RGBW/H801 controller.

I would suggest doing it this way since that way you have a single controller, rather than 4, and everything can be controlled together easily. Next to the controller (Fibaro/H801) you will need a 12V transformer capable of running all the strips together (wont need to be very strong is the cabinets are as small as it seems). The reason for 5 core is RGBW and a common anode cable, you could easily install this and connect to the 12V LED strip yourself. You can use 4 core cable if you only want RGB, and 3 core if you only want WW/CW, though I suggest 5 core for flexibility.

The only bit you need to worry about is the cabling, all the other stuff can be done afterwards easily.

1 Like

That’s great, thank you for your help. The. cupboards are on opposite sides or the kitchen but I guess he could run the cable throuhg the ceiling as we live in a bungalow. :grin: