Issue with GE 12722 Smart Switch Tripping Breaker

I’m just getting started with these smart devices. I’ve installed a couple switches, but am really intrigued with what can be done. I was trying to install a GE 12722 Smart Switch in my office to turn my ceiling fan on and off. The problem is every time I try and turn the power back on after installing the switch, it trips the breaker right away. I tired putting the switch on the light in the room and same thing. The breaker switch is an Eaton Arc Fault Breaker Type Chaff. I only have a few of these in my breaker box, pretty much all my bedrooms. When i put the dumb switch back in it works as normal. If I install the smart switch in another location without the an Arc Fault Breaker, it works like it is supposed to. Does anyone have any ideas what is going wrong here? I didn’t try installing the switch in another room with the Arc Fault Breaker. Is this a known issue, something unique to me? My house is 11 years old if that matters for anything. Thanks

You need to use the switch specifically for FANS (not a standard light dimmer).
I am using 5 of these with success.

You’re right that there’s a big problem if you try to use a light dimmer to control the fan speed. However, the OP is not using a dimmer, they’re using an on/off switch. That can work fine provided the specs match. It’s possible that the draw from the fan is too high and the switch is overloading and turning itself off. Or it could be a wiring issue.

@Navat604 or one of the other electrical expert’s might be able to say more.

If it is that the draw from the fan is too high, would the Fan Control switch fix the issue? The Smart Switch is listed as 600 Watts, while the fan switch is listed at 1000 watts. Trying to not go overboard with purchase right off the bat, so would like to feel some confidence that this would fix the issue. Thanks

Brand and model of the fan?

I believe it is the Hampton Bay, Glendale 42" ceiling fan.

Thank you for your help!