iOS 7.1 -- will Mobile Presence Improve?

(Steve S) #1

@urman - sorry to tag you, but you seem to know a lot about this topic. Was just wondering if now that the new iOS 7.1 is out will we see better (fixed!) mobile presence or will there still need to be another ST app update?

Thanks!

(Jeff DeWolfe) #2

Mine seems to be updating a lot quicker and accurately. I’m hoping the answer is yes!

(Kyle LeNeau) #3

Hello,

I am an iOS developer at SmartThings. iOS 7.1 should improve the reliability of mobile presence without an App update. However to account for the issue in iOS 7.1 we’ve added some double checking logic in the current App Store versions. The next release 1.5.4 will remove that logic since we have been seeing more harm then good with it.

To be clear we suspect that the iOS 7.1 update included an “under the cover” to how Apple handle’s the location information. In iOS 7.0 they made the change to say when a user swipes to remove an app from running then that app will no longer receive location notifications from the core API’s. iOS 6 had the opposite effect, when users quit an app or the system pushes and app out of memory then the app can continue to receive region location changes.

There was a petition headed up by the guys at Life360 to get Apple to change their logic back to how it was prior to iOS 7.0. Apple listened and changed it for iOS 7.1. However, it is not well documented in their release notes. This link/article talked about the change that was being petitioned: here.

Of course mobile presence remains a top priority for both mobile platforms and is something that we will continue to refine and improve.

Thanks,
Kyle

(Jeff DeWolfe) #4

That’s awesome. Thanks for the update Kyle! Glad to see you are lurking on the forums too!

(Andrew Urman) #5

what kyle said

(Steve S) #6