Integrating smart things with other devices - Raspberry pi? (noob question sorry)

Sorry if this question is done to death but as I don’t fully know what I’m asking I couldn’t really search.

I’m very new to ST and have a combination of compatible devices and some that are not compatible such as ikea bulbs (I know there is some success with connecting these but I’ve had limited luck), Alexa, lightwaveRF, ring doorbell and hive thermostat.

I’ve seen people mention on Facebook that its possible to use a pi to somehow bridge the gap.

I wondered if anyone would kindly point me to a link that explains in simple terms what I would like to do.

The other question is I don’t have pi but I do have a nuc that stays on nearly 24/7. Could I use the nuc instead of a pi, I guess I would have to configure a dual boot so that it runs linux as well as windows? Although the the cost of a pi it may not be worth it but just trying to cut down on unnecessary items where possible.

TIA!

There’s no one simple explanation because each individual integration may be done in a completely different way. You’re just going to have to look for each one one at a time to see what other people have done.

But the basic concept is pretty straightforward for most of the devices that you listed. The raspberry pi will act as a “man in the middle“ So that smartthings will talk to the pi, A program you install on the pi will convert that request to something which the receiving device’s cloud expects (Sometimes it’s the device itself, but not usually), that gets sent to the receiving device’s cloud, who then talks to the device to execute the command.

The lightwave RF integration is a good example of this. But again, it will be somewhat different for each device you are trying to integrate and you will need separate programs for each.