I'm ready to leave ST

I’m not wanting anything extreme. Just a simple security alarm system and I can’t get this system to work correctly. Now I thought my Fortrezz siren quit working because the app couldn’t control it, so I went to Lowes and bought their siren. ST can’t find it and then I tried a new ecolink motion that ST can’t find either. Unplugged and plugged hub back in and still can’t find new items. Support is no help at all and I’m basically a newbie that doesn’t understand 9/10 of the information I read on the community board. Now my decision is which company to which I’m going to switch. Sorry for the rant but I’ve had it!

1 Like

Sounds to me you may have a bad hub. Try returning it for a new one. Did you get it from Amazon, Best Buy, SmartThings shop?

I got it from ST and they are no help whatsoever! I would appreciate anyone with suggestions. The hub works fine with the items that I already have connected, but with no siren, the security is useless.

1 Like

Sounds like you might have had a connection issue with the first siren. How close is it to the hub? Are there any z-wave devices between the hub and the siren that are wall-powered or direct-wired?

Also, some devices don’t like to pair unless you have a custom devicetype that specifically works for them. Range from the hub while pairing if you don’t have a strong ‘mesh’ network setup in your house will also cause issues. You can extend the range of the ‘mesh’ by using wall-powered/direct-wired z-wave devices (or zigbee to expand the zigbee mesh, they’re completely separate standards). These wall-powered/direct-wired devices will almost always act as a repeater for the network, effectively extending the range of your z-wave or zigbee signal.

Final question, was the siren you bought from Lowes an ‘Iris’ branded one? Because those use a proprietary form of zigbee and are not compatible with the ST hub.