Huge Lag/Unresponsive Devices (UK)

Hi All,

I have just had my house rewired and as such thought it would be a good time to bake in some smart tech into what is, essentially, a 100-year old pile of bricks. Rewire happens, all goes well and new kit is installed. I opted for Qubino DIN Dimmers (looks very nice and centrally controlled, no need for physical light switch) for control and the Aeotec Wallmote Quads as switches. I have some other devices which are mostly working OK but the real problem I have is with my lighting.

When I press a button on the Aeotecā€™s they flash, they vibrate and then nothing happens. If you are lucky after about 10 seconds you might get a light coming on. I have been doing some investigation as I am new to Smartthings and have completed a bit of troubleshootingā€¦

1. I have run the Z-Wave repair numerous times. It was reporting orphaned devices so I have cleared them off by force removing dummy devices with matching network ID. The test now completes without complaining at all.
  2. I have changed the device handlers for the Qubinoā€™s from their custom DTH to a generic Z-Wave Metered Dimmer type. Exactly the same functionality but now we have local execution. THis has solved 99% of problem with the Qubino dimmers. They work prefectly from the app now and also Alexa seems a bit happier (would report non responsive device although would actually turn the light on or off)
  3. Have enacted QoS on my network. I have full Cisco Meraki network at home (FW, Switch, AP) and as such I can be quite granular with QoS. Anything from the Smartthings hub is prioritised above all else and forwarded ASAP (EF48 for the network geeks among you)
  4. Used enhanced monitoring on my WAN connectionā€¦ This is the interesting bit and explains why step 2 sorted so much out. I have between 25-35% packet loss all day long and between 50-80ms latency which can spike to 2500ms if the line is under heavy load.