How to change a connected item name in the app?

(Albert Kleyn) #1

Folks, a total newbie here. I’ve just commissioned a brand-new hub with a few devices, found in the starter kit. All working great. BUT… here is the question: While setting up a device you can give it a name… for instance Samsung outlet… BUT… HOW DO I CHANGE the name once it has been assigned ? I feel truly stupid but cannot seem to find a way to do this. I want to give the stuff more meaningful names.
Any help most gratefully received and apologies if this question has been previously answered. Thank you all so very much.
Albert

(jkp) #2

If you select/open the device, Click on the cog in the upper right-hand corner. From there, you can edit the name. Please note: I am assuming you are using the ST classic app :slight_smile:

Here are some screenshots to help out.

(Albert Kleyn) #4

JKP. I tried that. in the top r/h corner it has 3 dots. when i click on thos it opens an info window. That gives the assigned name and controller version1.7.1.00-211 a BLUE field with FIRMWARE UPDATE and in the bottom it says:
Open source licenses.
Albert

(jkp) #5

You are using the ST Connect app and I am not familiar with the renaming in that. Tagging @WB70

You’re on Samsung Connect, right? Are you “supposed” to be on that app or should you be using SmartThings Classic?

(Albert Kleyn) #7

as a brandnew newbie… i just downloaded that app. It works ok… bar the inability to change the connected Device (sensor or socket name)

(jkp) #8

You could rename it in IDE @ https://account.smartthings.com under my devices.

(Albert Kleyn) #9

Ryan… no idea… this is all brandnew territory for me. I just downloaded the app.

(Albert Kleyn) #10

JKP… THANK YOU. Will try that in he next t hr. running an animal sanctuary here and still have my hands full with the animals. Will come back as soon as I can.
Many thanks…
Albert