Help with Leviton DZ6HD in 4-Way

Hi everyone,

In my stairs and 2nd floor hallway, I have 3 switches that control 2 light fixtures. I’m trying to make this a smart lighting set-up with a Leviton DZ6HD-1BZ and two Leviton DD00R-DLZ’s.

I watched this video by Automate Everything, but his wiring is not quite the same as mine. I’m comfortable with electricity, but I’m not an electrician.

My current set-up:
Switch at bottom of stairs

Switch on 2nd floor at top of stairs (Outside the Office)

Switch on 2nd floor (Outside Master BR)

My attempt at drawing a schematic of the wiring

In this picture, the blue lines represent the white wires and green represents bare copper wires. The house was wired in 1992 and I’ve replaced a few switches already - the white wires are consistently neutral.

I assume that the two DD00R-DLZ’s will go at the bottom of the stairs and outside the master BR and that the DZ6HD-1BZ will go outside the Office.

I also assume that my wiring is similar to the wiring in Option #1 here. However, the only switch box in my set-up that has two Romex wires (represented by orange in my schematic above) coming into/out of it is the box outside of the office. Which leads me to a secondary question of: How is power getting into this lighting system?!

But, my main question is: How do I convert this to a smart set-up? Do I simply replace the switches at the bottom of the stairs and the master BR with the DD00R-DLZ’s? That process seems straight-forward.

What is happening in the box outside of the office? Why are the black wires connected together with a nut? How do I connect this wiring to the DZ6HD-1BZ?

Thanks for your time, I really appreciate any help you can give!

I see two Romex cables in the box you’ve labeled “Outside Master BR” but it appears that the black and white wires from one of them are both capped off with electrical tape. ??

Paging @ritchierich who is excellent at this sort of puzzle

1 Like