Help w/ garage door open detect and Auto unlock SmartApp

Hi everyone,

I’m a newbie to Smartthings, and am loving it–already have a few dimmers, a garage sensor, and door lock installed for some basic convenience. I am not sure if this is the right place to ask, so I apologize in advance if it isn’t.

I’m trying to set up a scenario where when I arrive home via my garage that the back door to my home (within the garage) is unlocked. This helps when I am carrying groceries and a baby, and I don’t have to fumble for keys. I am currently using my iPhone as the presence detector, have a smartsense garage door sensor, and a Schlage z-wave lock to the home. Currently, I have it set with a pre-defined SmartApp that works pretty well: “when I arrive home (via iPhone proximity detection), unlock the Schlage lock”. However, it doesn’t work the way I want when we leave the home out the front door and go for walks around the neighborhood with the baby, and unlocks my Schlage lock when I “leave” the house by walking far enough away from my home in the neighborhood and then coming back.

Since I have a garage door sensor, I was hoping for logic along the lines of: “if I arrive home, and the garage door is open (which means I am coming through the garage with my car and not simply taking a walk around the neighborhood), open the Schlage lock to my home”. I am not sure if Smartthings would detect all of these factors in a timely (correct) enough manner (e.g. it will detect my iPhone as “arriving” well before I open the garage door).

Short of buying the Smartthings presence detectors and leaving them in my glove compartment of my cars, are there any other suggestions. I really appreciate the guidance!

Then why not use the door open event to trigger your app and check if you have already arrived as the second condition.