Hello SmartPeople! New Home Automation Enthusiast Jumping on the Train

Hello all! New to the forum and home automation. I discovered Smarthings about a month ago and am hoping it is as easy and versatile as promised.
My education was in chemistry and math. I have no programming knowledge of any sort other the modifying a couple of sketches downloaded to a Arduino to make LEDs blink and a temp sensor a year or so ago.

I recently purchased the V2 hub, a few Wemo and Cree bulbs, an Aeon motion sensor, Aeon power cord, and 2 2gig dimmer switches. Dimmers haven not been installed.

On setup the hub found my network, and pairing of the devices was surprisingly quick and simple. I canā€™t understand why the app is laid out like it is. I fell Iā€™m losing the sense of automation when I have to: 1. wake up the phone. 2. swipe screen to unlock. 3. open the app. 4. tap the rooms tab. 5 tap the room. 6. tap the device to turn on off. 6 steps?

Is there a widget or short cut package I can download?

Please bear with my stupid questions while Iā€™m discovering this system. Iā€™m fairly smart but I will be surely make you doubt it at times.

Looking forward to learning a lot from all of you.

TEW

Welcome to the community.

Check out the Smart Lighting app in the market place. You could use your Aeon multi sensor to turn on a light with motion as one example. Are you on Android or IOS?

1 Like

Yeah, the app can take a little getting used to initially.

One important note is that SmartThings is design as home automation, not home remote control. The underlying principle is that your home will just do what itā€™s supposed to do when it needs to.