Getting started - monitoring z-wave activity

I am just starting out with ST and Z-Wave and wanted to get some extra understanding of how things work on Z-Wave network. The questions below will probably demonstrate how little I know of this - so any pointers would be appreciated.

My understanding of it is that Z-Wave is a mesh network where each node can send and/or receive commands. ST hub acts as a controller and should be able at least to send signals to nodes (siwtches) and receive signals from nodes (motion, physical activity on switches).

I was wondering if ST hub can monitor all of the messages on the network? I realize it is possible the messages are point to point and the hub may not actually even see ALL the messages pass through it, but is there a way to have all messages delivered to the hub and/or at least show the messages that are seen by ST hub? If not, is there another way to monitor a z-wave network?

And second question, I am guessing each device has an ID on the network which is used as a MAC address to send messages to. Can ST hub create/emulate multiple virtual device IDs and receive signals from the mesh network. In other words, can I create a virtual switch in ST that can be controlled via Z-Wave from other controllers?

Thanks,

-M

1 Like

Have you looked at the “Live Logging” found in the IDE:

https://graph.api.smartthings.com/login/auth

No.

You’ll get a detailed explanation of the alternatives from someone, but, in brief, the SmartHub is not configured as “scene controller” compatible, though it can pickup scene control events from some newer devices. Search for discussions on remote controls (esp. the GE 45600 or 45601) for details hashed over extensively).

Zwave and zigbee networks are designed to be cheap in terms of both dollars and energy draw.